DUI & DWI DEFENSE LAWYERS

DWI & DUI Attorneys In Fort Worth, TX

Protecting your drivers license, freedom and your future.

If you or a loved one has been arrested for DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) in the State of Texas, you very likely have questions about how working with an experienced DWI defense lawyer can help ensure that your case ends in the best result possible. At Gardner Smith & Hill in Fort Worth, we provide an initial consultation to people who have been charged with DUI or DWI to help them understand how Texas DWI law applies to your situation, and your options for moving forward with your defense. Don’t face your DWI alone. Call today to schedule your initial consultation with one of our DUI & DWI Attorneys.

During the initial consultation, we can help you answer questions such as:

  • Will I lose my drivers’ license? For how long?
  • Will I have to pay a higher monthly insurance premium?
  • Can I get fired from my job for getting a DWI?
  • Was the Breath or Blood Test Accurate?
  • How much will it cost to hire a DWI Lawyer?
  • Did the Police or Highway Patrol have the Right to Pull me over?

What If I am Guilty? How Can a DWI Attorney Help?

Many times when people are arrested for a DWI, they automatically believe that they are guilty. They think they had one or two too many drinks, they got caught and that they will have to deal with the consequences. This is simply NOT TRUE. Just because you consumed alcohol before driving a car does NOT mean that you are guilty of a DWI. The prosecution and police officers involved have the burden of proof to prove that you were over the legal limit, and that every step of the process was handled correctly. An experienced DWI attorney can raise questions about the validity of the evidence or whether the police even had the right to pull you over in the first place.

Can I refuse to take a breath test? What Happens if I refuse?

Texas operates under what is referred to as an “Implied Consent” law, that basically means that by driving an automobile in Texas, you are giving your consent to be tested should the need arise. If you refuse to take a breath test you will automatically lose your license for 180 days (roughly six months).

Can I refuse to take a breath test? What Happens if I refuse?

Texas operates under what is referred to as an “Implied Consent” law, that basically means that by driving an automobile in Texas, you are giving your consent to be tested should the need arise. If you refuse to take a breath test you will automatically lose your license for 180 days (roughly six months).

DWI Isn't Just Alcohol

In terms of a breath test result or BAC (blood alcohol concentration), you will be charged with a DWI if your result is over 0.8%. However, you can also be charged with a DWI for not having the normal use of mental or physical faculties due to the consumption of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of those substances.